reviews

Reviews are the m:n mapping table between books and shelves. This means books that are just on your to-read shelf still have a review, connecting the book with your shelf. I don't make the rules.

1,264 rows

View and edit SQL

id book_id user_id rating text date_added date_updated started_at read_at
1249288776 Am Samstag kam das Sams zurück 1598960 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:07:41-07:00 2018-07-13T10:33:28-07:00   2000-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249288961 The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe 100915 rixx 41972609 1   2015-04-08T07:07:57-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:31-07:00   2002-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249288996 The Hobbit or There and Back Again 5907 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:08:01-07:00 2018-07-13T10:33:16-07:00   2000-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289053 Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch 12067 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:08:06-07:00 2018-07-13T11:31:51-07:00   2015-04-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289105 The Golden Compass 119322 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:08:09-07:00 2018-07-13T11:16:59-07:00   2008-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289202 Anansi Boys 2744 rixx 41972609 5 Very much a Neil Gaiman book. I think both Spider and the green fedora are going to stay with me for a long time. 2015-04-08T07:08:17-07:00 2016-11-28T04:37:25-08:00 2016-11-26T00:00:00-08:00 2016-11-28T04:37:25-08:00
1249289270 The Golem's Eye 59263 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:08:23-07:00 2018-07-13T11:05:53-07:00   2007-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289451 The Opal Deception 114954 rixx 41972609 2   2015-04-08T07:08:39-07:00 2018-07-13T10:54:59-07:00   2005-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289575 The Ring of Solomon 7640705 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:08:50-07:00 2015-08-06T13:36:40-07:00   2011-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249289770 The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul 357 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:09:06-07:00 2018-07-13T11:10:05-07:00   2008-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249289835 The Truth 34498 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:09:11-07:00 2018-07-13T10:36:27-07:00   2001-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249290285 Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 41899 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:09:49-07:00 2018-07-13T10:36:54-07:00   2001-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249290389 Artemis Fowl 249747 rixx 41972609 2   2015-04-08T07:09:56-07:00 2018-07-13T10:44:25-07:00   2004-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290665 Coraline 17061 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:20-07:00 2018-07-13T10:40:59-07:00   2003-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290720 The Neverending Story 27712 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:25-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:03-07:00   2002-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290756 I Shall Wear Midnight 7576115 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:27-07:00 2018-07-13T11:25:31-07:00   2012-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290831 Ronia, the Robber's Daughter 19314 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:34-07:00 2018-07-13T10:37:21-07:00   2001-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249291019 The City of Dreaming Books 62031 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:53-07:00 2018-07-13T11:08:18-07:00   2007-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249291084 Krabat 472626 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:57-07:00 2018-07-13T10:53:57-07:00   2005-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249291267 The Blade Itself 944073 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:11:12-07:00 2018-07-04T05:02:39-07:00   2015-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249291283 Mort 386372 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:11:14-07:00 2018-07-13T10:44:47-07:00   2004-04-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249291404 The Way of Shadows 3227063 rixx 41972609 4 I just really enjoyed this book. It is pure and classic fantasy. Not very sophisticated, but very very enjoyable, especially since I have a thing for training stories and an out-of-the-ashes arc. 2015-04-08T07:11:24-07:00 2016-05-06T11:44:54-07:00   2016-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249293276 Guards! Guards! 64216 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:13:47-07:00 2016-05-07T16:03:12-07:00   2005-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249293441 The Night of Wishes 27719 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:14:00-07:00 2018-07-13T10:39:15-07:00   2002-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249294287 Lycidas 1303536 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:15:09-07:00 2018-07-13T11:24:26-07:00   2011-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249296477 Small Gods 34484 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:18:01-07:00 2016-05-07T16:01:22-07:00   2005-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249296496 The Light Fantastic 34506 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:18:03-07:00 2018-07-13T11:01:46-07:00   2006-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249296573 The Wee Free Men 34494 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:18:10-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:51-07:00   2010-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249296637 The Color of Magic 34497 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:18:16-07:00 2015-07-03T00:28:55-07:00   2007-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249296695 Night Watch 47989 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:18:21-07:00 2018-07-13T10:52:40-07:00   2005-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297282 Wyrd Sisters 34504 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:12-07:00 2018-07-13T11:08:35-07:00   2007-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297298 Reaper Man 34517 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:14-07:00 2018-07-13T10:43:28-07:00   2003-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297376 Men at Arms 400354 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:20-07:00 2015-08-06T13:33:56-07:00   2005-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297425 Feet of Clay 34527 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:24-07:00 2018-07-13T11:14:55-07:00   2008-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297448 Sourcery 34499 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:26-07:00 2018-07-13T10:42:09-07:00   2003-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297483 Witches Abroad 2442 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:19:29-07:00 2015-07-03T00:22:24-07:00   2006-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297506 Thud! 62530 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:30-07:00 2018-07-13T11:18:26-07:00   2009-04-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297530 Lords and Ladies 34529 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:33-07:00 2018-07-13T10:55:15-07:00   2005-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297554 A Hat Full of Sky 34501 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:19:35-07:00 2018-07-13T11:24:37-07:00   2011-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297576 Soul Music 34502 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:37-07:00 2018-07-13T11:20:07-07:00   2009-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297632 Pyramids 64217 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:42-07:00 2018-07-13T11:05:38-07:00   2007-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297660 The Fifth Elephant 63720 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:19:45-07:00 2018-07-13T11:18:46-07:00   2009-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297739 Moving Pictures 34510 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:19:52-07:00 2018-07-13T10:53:08-07:00   2005-04-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297805 Carpe Jugulum 34541 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:19:57-07:00 2018-07-13T10:42:32-07:00   2003-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297853 Jingo 47990 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:20:01-07:00 2018-07-13T11:01:35-07:00   2006-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297967 Maskerade 78876 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:20:10-07:00 2018-07-13T11:03:08-07:00   2007-04-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249297998 Eric 64218 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:20:13-07:00 2018-07-13T10:54:43-07:00   2005-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249298014 Wintersmith 34492 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:20:14-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:00-07:00   2010-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249298103 The Last Continent 47994 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:20:20-07:00 2018-07-13T11:18:40-07:00   2009-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249298182 Snuff 8785374 rixx 41972609 4 Yeah, Commander Vimes and little Sammy and *another* book (this one about Poo). Also, Goblins turn out not to be vermin. Surprise! 2015-04-08T07:20:26-07:00 2017-07-11T03:56:30-07:00 2017-07-06T00:00:00-07:00 2017-07-07T00:00:00-07:00
1249298237 The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents 34534 rixx 41972609 3 Well, that was fun, but less fun than I've had with most other Pratchett books, I think? It's about average for him, at most, which still makes this a very good book. 2015-04-08T07:20:29-07:00 2017-07-11T03:38:43-07:00 2017-07-06T00:00:00-07:00 2017-07-06T00:00:00-07:00
1249298266 The Long Earth 13147230 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:20:31-07:00 2018-09-30T01:35:52-07:00   2014-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249298421 Dodger 13516846 rixx 41972609 5 Uh boy! Pratchett goes to the time and place he is most nerdy about: Early Victorian London.<br /><br />The book is so charming and wonderful and funny (different humour, maybe even more enjoyable?). It is littered with actual people from that time, both well-known (Charlie and Victoria), and little-known (which makes them even more fascinating). I should have read this one much earlier, and I enjoyed it a lot. 2015-04-08T07:20:43-07:00 2017-06-01T14:07:53-07:00 2017-05-31T00:00:00-07:00 2017-06-01T14:07:54-07:00
1249298479 Raising Steam 11275323 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:20:47-07:00 2017-07-11T14:17:14-07:00 2017-07-11T00:00:00-07:00 2017-07-11T14:17:14-07:00
1249298510 Only You Can Save Mankind 34521 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:20:49-07:00 2018-07-13T10:44:37-07:00   2004-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249298622 The Carpet People 17836100 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-08T07:20:57-07:00 2018-07-13T10:43:47-07:00   2003-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249298705 Johnny and the Dead 34528 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:21:06-07:00 2018-07-13T11:07:39-07:00   2007-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249298839 Johnny and the Bomb 64385 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:21:18-07:00 2018-07-13T11:22:12-07:00   2010-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249299663 A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction 13536811 rixx 41972609 5 Some mediocre-okayish stuff, but a few really, really great ones. In the end, Granny overshadowed everything as per usual, but the barbarian hero who went to meet his maker stands out, too. 2015-04-08T07:22:25-07:00 2017-02-02T13:30:38-08:00 2017-02-01T00:00:00-08:00 2017-02-02T13:30:38-08:00
1249300324 The Ocean at the End of the Lane 15783514 rixx 41972609 5 (My reviews are mostly to help myself remember what I thought and why.)<br /><br />The Ocean at the End of the Lane is most definitely a Neil Gaiman book. It also feels like a Pratchett book - a bit less humor and a bit more beauty in its sentences, maybe.<br /><br />It plays on myths and real life. And on childhood - it's not a coming-of-age story, it's a story about childhood with all its dangers: parents, siblings, friends and nannies who are really daemons from another world. Well, at least another part of the world.<br /><br />This book made me feel good, through all the horrible things that happened in it. Made me feel right at home. It is - to me - much less dark than Coraline, because it's so much more mythical. The Ocean at the End of the Lane plays on myths and archetypes, making me feel safe and at home though all its darkness (opposed to Coraline, which felt right, too, but muuuuch more scary).<br /><br />I loved the wise Lettie, and her mother, and of course her grandmother (and the maid-mother-crone dynamic of course). I loved the protagonist, a young boy, who deals with life as well as he can. I loved his family -- it all felt very, very real. But then, the best fairytales are. 2015-04-08T07:23:24-07:00 2015-07-02T23:35:38-07:00   2015-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249300352 Stardust 16793 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-08T07:23:26-07:00 2018-07-13T11:26:59-07:00   2013-04-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249300438 Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders 16788 rixx 41972609 3 Short story collections are tricky things, and tricky to rate. You never love all of them, but when one or two of them truly grab you, you're good. And of course, nobody gets grabbed by the same stories. The three stars represent the amount of stories that didn't do a thing for me, even though I fell for a few of the others.<br /><br />There was a lot in here that struck me as stereotypically gothic or "just a" story, even though Gaiman always finds beautiful words for his stories. But beautiful words don't make a story. That was The Flints of Memory Lane, The Facts in the Case of the Departure of Miss Finch (I kind of felt that you had to be Kurt Vonnegut to pull off telling the ending first), Feeders and Eaters, Pages From a Journal Found in a Shoebox Left in a Greyhound Bus Somewhere Between Tulsa, Oklahoma, and Louisville, Kentucky (maybe how Kafka would have written, if he was Neil Gaiman), Keepsakes and Treasures, and the Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves …, also nearly all of the Poems.<br /><br />There were also some that I liked, but did not love; they were nice to look at, but did not touch me: A Study in Emerald (because apparently you can pull off the Holmes/Cthulhu crossover if your name is Gaiman), October in the Chair (nice little precursor to the Graveyard Book), Bitter Grounds (too Kafka to touch me, but very, very well done), Harlequin Valentine (I can go with that symbolism), How Do You Think It Feels (I don't like affairs, but I do like Gargoyles), In The End, and Goliath, which he wrote for the Matrix website when the movie got out, and I think I liked it as much as the movie. Also, How to Talk to Girls at Parties and Sunbird, which I knew and liked already.<br /><br />And then, sometimes, stories or poems or ideas just touch you. Some even grip you, and some of those won't let go for a long time: The Problem of Susan, even though (or maybe because) I did not like Narnia. Instructions, which I need to write down in the nicest lettering I can manage, and put it up, or give it to somebody… 2015-04-08T07:23:34-07:00 2016-05-22T12:58:36-07:00 2016-05-17T00:00:00-07:00 2016-05-22T12:58:36-07:00
1250221285 The Name of the Wind 186074 rixx 41972609 4 I really liked this book - it hits all the sweet spots for me. Brilliant language, not-too-overbearing fantasy setting, believable characters, good pacing and narration (and a bit of training in the $arts).<br /><br />Kvothe is relatable even when he's making mistakes, which is really important in protagonists. Halfway through the book I started thinking that he was maybe just too much of a Mary-Sue character, but when I stopped to think about it, it turned out that he isn't one, really. He just comes off that way because he's allowed to tell his own story, and with enough conviction, everybody's their own Mary Sue.<br /><br />Can't wait to read the second part. 2015-04-09T06:04:22-07:00 2019-09-21T11:10:59-07:00 2016-05-23T00:00:00-07:00 2016-06-04T00:00:00-07:00
1250226963 Alice in Wonderland 138516 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-09T06:12:34-07:00 2018-07-13T10:45:12-07:00   2004-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250227143 Starfish 66479 rixx 41972609 2 Not my thing. Good solid characters, and the whole "living on the ground of the ocean evolving into something else was alright". The only part I really liked were the headcheese (erm, neural nets), and the fact somebody figured out which genetic side they'd take by asking one if it preferred Chess or Checkers. That was neat. 2015-04-09T06:12:47-07:00 2018-02-26T13:17:08-08:00 2018-02-23T12:48:23-08:00 2018-02-26T13:17:08-08:00
1250227381 Blindsight 48484 rixx 41972609 4 Through most of **Blindsight**, I thought this was a typical scifi novel – better than most, sure, because the aliens were truly alien, and incomprehensible, and the humans had real characters, and futuristic modifications, and were clever, while engaging with this unknown and potentially unknowable alien, far from home, to save/represent Earth.<br /><br />But then, *Peter Watts* had to go and pack a final twist, sending me thinking about the correlations of intelligence and awareness, and the consequences of his novel, for the next days. This book packs a punch, and it's only in the very end that you spot it. I loved it. (Not least due to the appendix, where he lists all the recent science and studies that influenced his book, and which parts of it might feasibly be possible soon.) 2015-04-09T06:13:05-07:00 2019-01-14T07:34:24-08:00   2019-01-11
1250227440 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 5 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:13:09-07:00 2018-07-13T10:36:40-07:00   2001-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250227496 Sophie's World 10959 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:13:13-07:00 2018-07-13T10:43:42-07:00   2003-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250227534 Daemon 4699575 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:13:17-07:00 2019-09-21T11:11:20-07:00   2011-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250227683 Anathem 2845024 rixx 41972609 5 **Anathem** by *Neal Stephenson* kept me pretty busy. Between a bunch of conferences, the sufficient concentration was a bit hard to come by. What's worse: Now that I have read it, I can't tell you if it is a good book or not.<br /><br />… because I enjoyed it too much. This book hit my sweet nerd spots one after another. Advanced future? Monasteries? Weird science? Conservancy? Quantum states in brains? Spaaaaaace? Yes, please. For me, this book is just fantastic, and I'll definitely return to it in the future. Plausible characters, fallible protagonist, and holy-shit-unpredictable plot. Wonderful worldbuilding, too. But, really, in many ways it's the scifi version of The Name of the Rose (complete with author pretentiousness). I love both, regardless of their, ahem, more objective qualities.<br /><br />An honorable mention goes to the presence of plenty of strong and cool women in a book where it would have been easy to sell an all-male cast. 2015-04-09T06:13:28-07:00 2019-09-20T13:45:09-07:00 2019-08-07T19:48:40-07:00 2019-09-20T13:45:09-07:00
1250227816 Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality 10016013 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-09T06:13:37-07:00 2018-07-13T11:31:12-07:00   2014-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250230330 Interesting Times 884288 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:17:03-07:00 2018-07-13T11:08:47-07:00   2007-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250230393 The Sword of Good 16074687 rixx 41972609 4 Oh boy, Yudkowsky writes high fantasy, and it's *exactly* what I expected. 2015-04-09T06:17:07-07:00 2019-09-21T11:13:23-07:00   2018-02-19
1250230498 Stories of Your Life and Others 223380 rixx 41972609     2015-04-09T06:17:15-07:00 2015-04-09T06:17:16-07:00    
1250230624 Thinking, Fast and Slow 11468377 rixx 41972609     2015-04-09T06:17:25-07:00 2018-05-29T23:57:27-07:00 2018-04-30T14:42:12-07:00 2018-05-29T23:57:27-07:00
1250231123 A Song of Ice and Fire 9814682 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:18:05-07:00 2018-07-13T11:30:59-07:00   2014-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250231191 Momo 68811 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-09T06:18:09-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:43-07:00   2002-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250231408 Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!: Adventures of a Curious Character 5544 rixx 41972609 3 Feynman's autobiography was a bit too far on the stream-of-consciousness side for my tastes, but at least this way the reader gets a very direct feeling for what Feynman was like. Not always the best person, and with his share of faults and stupid/bad behaviour, but at the same time very engaging and open. Some parts dragged on, but most were interesting in at least some respect. An enjoyable read in the end. 2015-04-09T06:18:25-07:00 2018-08-23T02:36:53-07:00 2018-08-20T14:54:08-07:00 2018-08-23T02:36:53-07:00
1250231438 The Jennifer Morgue 14150 rixx 41972609 4 (This review is only to make me remember what happened in a book and why I liked it.)<br /><br />Second Laundry Book, Bob is slowly moving up the ladder, although Mo's apparently at least twice as fast and ten times as deadly as him. Comes with a spin-off, Pimpf, about Bob and a planted intern battling demons in Neverwinter Nights.<br /><br />Slightly better written than the Atrocity Archives, and much more amusing the second time I read it, mostly because you get to appreciate Bob as Bond Girl more. Erm, yeah, here's the story:<br /><br />Basically, something even BLUE HADES is afraid of wants to get free, and uses a devious billionaire and his wife (who works in surveillance cosmetics) to achieve its goal. They set up a hero trap (people are compelled to follow Bond movie behaviour), which leads to Bob getting destinyentangled with a Black Chamber operative, Ramona. (Obviously, the Black Chamber want the artifact to themselves.) Everything seems to go wrong, because neither Bob nor Ramona realize that Bob is the Good Bond Girl and Mo is Bond. All's well in the end, including a proposal (Bob to Mo), to break free of the Bond thing ;) 2015-04-09T06:18:29-07:00 2018-01-23T15:49:47-08:00 2015-07-03T00:00:00-07:00 2015-07-07T00:07:06-07:00
1250231459 The Family Trade 17861 rixx 41972609 3 The Family Trade introduces the Merchant Princess worlds (all three of them) and takes us along with Miriam in discovering the mechanics (mostly economical mechanics) of those worlds. Solid world building, this is probably hard economic science fiction. Not my main area of interest but apart from some passages on trading that became too in-detail for me, I enjoyed the book. 2015-04-09T06:18:31-07:00 2016-07-05T04:27:31-07:00 2016-02-05T00:00:00-08:00 2016-02-05T00:00:00-08:00
1250232174 Life, the Universe and Everything 8694 rixx 41972609 2   2015-04-09T06:19:26-07:00 2018-07-13T10:45:41-07:00   2004-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250232554 Perfume: The Story of a Murderer 343 rixx 41972609 1   2015-04-09T06:19:56-07:00 2018-07-13T11:23:16-07:00   2010-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250232618 Down on the Farm 8605343 rixx 41972609 4 Bob goes visit the Funny Farm and deals with a Mainframe. I mostly loved the use of a chessboard as 2,5(?)-Turing machine. 2015-04-09T06:20:02-07:00 2018-01-23T15:48:54-08:00 2015-07-07T00:00:00-07:00 2015-07-07T00:20:38-07:00
1250232961 Saturn's Children 2278387 rixx 41972609 4 Post-human world sexbots vs post-human world butlers, man. It's so much better than it sounds. 2015-04-09T06:20:31-07:00 2017-11-19T15:01:38-08:00   2017-11-19
1250233029 Nation 2855034 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:20:37-07:00 2018-07-13T11:27:45-07:00   2013-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250233378 Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 2 rixx 41972609 2   2015-04-09T06:21:03-07:00 2015-07-02T23:52:54-07:00   2003-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250233415 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 6 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-09T06:21:06-07:00 2018-07-13T10:34:47-07:00   2001-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250233442 The Two Towers 15241 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-09T06:21:08-07:00 2018-07-13T10:34:41-07:00   2001-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250233505 Ender's Game 375802 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:21:12-07:00 2015-07-03T00:28:48-07:00   2014-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250233685 The Little Prince 157993 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-09T06:21:26-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:17-07:00   2002-04-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250233939 Little Brother 954674 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:21:46-07:00 2018-07-13T11:27:05-07:00   2013-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250234058 The Atrocity Archives 101869 rixx 41972609 5 (My reviews are mostly to help me remember what happened in a book and why I liked/disliked it.)<br /><br />Soo, the beginning of my favourite Stross series. You know: magic is advanced maths, kinda powerful geeks and really powerful burocracy.<br /><br />I think it's noticable that Atrocity Archives is an early Stross book. In the first half, the Shibboleth/Shibboleet dropping is sometimes very obvious and a bit annoying. (Redeeming Stross though, he is actually knowledgable enough to actually use all those jokes, tropes and catchphrases, so it's ok.)<br /><br />Plot: We meet Bob, who wants to join Active Service in the Laundry. Angleton and Andy, his bosses, send him to the USA, where he meets and saves Mo, who then returns to London and moves in with him (after Bob saves her again at her own doorstep).<br /><br />To draw out their enemies Mo, Bob and secret reinforcements travel to Amsterdam for research, where Mo is promptly abducted to another universe. Bob joins the reconnaissance team. Turns out, in a close parallel universe to our own one, the Nazis finished their arcane project by summoning an Infovore and travelling to that world (some ice giants included). The Infovore sucked the universe dry and is now trying to get all of itself over to Bob's universe. With judicious use of some Hands of Glory and an H-Bomb they manage to save Mo, Bob and about half the crew. 2015-04-09T06:21:57-07:00 2015-07-02T23:27:05-07:00 2015-07-01T00:00:00-07:00 2015-07-02T00:00:00-07:00
1250234260 Prince Caspian 121749 rixx 41972609 1   2015-04-09T06:22:15-07:00 2018-07-13T10:39:04-07:00   2002-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250236551 Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? 7082 rixx 41972609 3 Definitely the kind of scifi that I like. Real, easy to read. Also, sheep. 2015-04-09T06:25:21-07:00 2016-11-13T04:06:34-08:00   2016-11-12T00:00:00-08:00
1250236686 Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency 365 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:25:32-07:00 2018-07-13T11:02:23-07:00   2007-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1250237432 The Water Mirror 929373 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:26:33-07:00 2018-07-13T11:06:32-07:00   2007-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250237458 The Stone Light 135879 rixx 41972609 3   2015-04-09T06:26:35-07:00 2018-07-13T11:15:59-07:00   2008-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250237512 The Glass Word 937003 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:26:39-07:00 2018-07-13T11:06:39-07:00   2007-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250237616 Frostfeuer 1707436 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:26:47-07:00 2018-07-13T11:19:41-07:00   2009-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250238856 Merle und die Fließende Königin 135887 rixx 41972609 4   2015-04-09T06:28:35-07:00 2018-07-13T11:18:07-07:00   2009-03-01T00:00:00-08:00

Next page

Advanced export

JSON shape: default, array, newline-delimited, object

CSV options:

CREATE TABLE [reviews] (
   [id] TEXT PRIMARY KEY,
   [book_id] TEXT REFERENCES [books]([id]),
   [user_id] TEXT REFERENCES [users]([id]),
   [rating] TEXT,
   [text] TEXT,
   [date_added] TEXT,
   [date_updated] TEXT
, [started_at] TEXT, [read_at] TEXT);
Powered by Datasette · Query took 45.914ms