reviews

Reviews are the m:n mapping table between books and shelves. This means books that are just on your to-read shelf still have a review, connecting the book with your shelf. I don't make the rules.

124 rows where rating = 5

View and edit SQL

Suggested facets: date_added (date), date_updated (date), started_at (date), read_at (date)

rating

id book_id user_id rating text date_added date_updated started_at read_at
1249272943 The Count of Monte Cristo 7126 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:46:44-07:00 2018-07-13T10:41:42-07:00   2003-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249274136 Slaughterhouse-Five 4981 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:48:17-07:00 2015-07-03T00:31:41-07:00   2009-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249274444 Hogfather 34532 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:48:42-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:08-07:00   2010-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249274581 The Fuller Memorandum 7149287 rixx 41972609 5 Just a review to remind myself of why I liked this book:<br /><br />The Fuller Memorandum details the break-up of a cultist organization and a Laundry leak, we also get to know TEAPOT and Angleton's story. We see Mo and Bob as a married couple, and Bob on his way *up*. Good work, to my mind a generic Laundry book if there ever was one. Nice read nonetheless. 2015-04-08T06:48:53-07:00 2015-08-04T05:52:06-07:00   2015-07-22T00:00:00-07:00
1249280738 Treasure Island 295 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:56:39-07:00 2018-07-13T10:45:26-07:00   2004-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249282969 The Book Thief 19063 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:59:44-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:45-07:00   2010-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249283147 A Game of Thrones 13496 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T06:59:58-07:00 2018-07-13T11:26:19-07:00   2012-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249284380 The Name of the Rose 119073 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:01:35-07:00 2018-07-13T10:44:42-07:00   2004-04-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249285639 The Martian 18007564 rixx 41972609 5 Gods, I already knew they had chosen Matt Damon as lead role, and I can imagine him in that role so very well! Brilliant humor with hard scifi. I seriously hope they won't fuck up the movie. 2015-04-08T07:03:10-07:00 2016-05-07T16:14:01-07:00   2015-08-06T10:38:55-07:00
1249286289 Redshirts 13055592 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:04:09-07:00 2018-07-13T11:30:54-07:00   2014-10-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249287580 American Gods 4407 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:05:59-07:00 2018-07-13T11:25:25-07:00   2012-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249287896 Monstrous Regiment 34511 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:06:26-07:00 2018-07-13T11:19:36-07:00   2009-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249288520 Max und Moritz. Eine Bubengeschichte in sieben Streichen 854836 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:07:19-07:00 2015-07-03T01:02:47-07:00   2000-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249289053 Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch 12067 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:08:06-07:00 2018-07-13T11:31:51-07:00   2015-04-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249289202 Anansi Boys 2744 rixx 41972609 5 Very much a Neil Gaiman book. I think both Spider and the green fedora are going to stay with me for a long time. 2015-04-08T07:08:17-07:00 2016-11-28T04:37:25-08:00 2016-11-26T00:00:00-08:00 2016-11-28T04:37:25-08:00
1249290665 Coraline 17061 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:20-07:00 2018-07-13T10:40:59-07:00   2003-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290720 The Neverending Story 27712 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:25-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:03-07:00   2002-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290756 I Shall Wear Midnight 7576115 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:27-07:00 2018-07-13T11:25:31-07:00   2012-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249290831 Ronia, the Robber's Daughter 19314 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:34-07:00 2018-07-13T10:37:21-07:00   2001-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249291019 The City of Dreaming Books 62031 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:53-07:00 2018-07-13T11:08:18-07:00   2007-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249291084 Krabat 472626 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:10:57-07:00 2018-07-13T10:53:57-07:00   2005-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249296573 The Wee Free Men 34494 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:18:10-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:51-07:00   2010-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249296695 Night Watch 47989 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:18:21-07:00 2018-07-13T10:52:40-07:00   2005-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297483 Witches Abroad 2442 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:19:29-07:00 2015-07-03T00:22:24-07:00   2006-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249297554 A Hat Full of Sky 34501 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:19:35-07:00 2018-07-13T11:24:37-07:00   2011-09-01T00:00:00-07:00
1249298014 Wintersmith 34492 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-08T07:20:14-07:00 2018-07-13T11:21:00-07:00   2010-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1249298421 Dodger 13516846 rixx 41972609 5 Uh boy! Pratchett goes to the time and place he is most nerdy about: Early Victorian London.<br /><br />The book is so charming and wonderful and funny (different humour, maybe even more enjoyable?). It is littered with actual people from that time, both well-known (Charlie and Victoria), and little-known (which makes them even more fascinating). I should have read this one much earlier, and I enjoyed it a lot. 2015-04-08T07:20:43-07:00 2017-06-01T14:07:53-07:00 2017-05-31T00:00:00-07:00 2017-06-01T14:07:54-07:00
1249299663 A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction 13536811 rixx 41972609 5 Some mediocre-okayish stuff, but a few really, really great ones. In the end, Granny overshadowed everything as per usual, but the barbarian hero who went to meet his maker stands out, too. 2015-04-08T07:22:25-07:00 2017-02-02T13:30:38-08:00 2017-02-01T00:00:00-08:00 2017-02-02T13:30:38-08:00
1249300324 The Ocean at the End of the Lane 15783514 rixx 41972609 5 (My reviews are mostly to help myself remember what I thought and why.)<br /><br />The Ocean at the End of the Lane is most definitely a Neil Gaiman book. It also feels like a Pratchett book - a bit less humor and a bit more beauty in its sentences, maybe.<br /><br />It plays on myths and real life. And on childhood - it's not a coming-of-age story, it's a story about childhood with all its dangers: parents, siblings, friends and nannies who are really daemons from another world. Well, at least another part of the world.<br /><br />This book made me feel good, through all the horrible things that happened in it. Made me feel right at home. It is - to me - much less dark than Coraline, because it's so much more mythical. The Ocean at the End of the Lane plays on myths and archetypes, making me feel safe and at home though all its darkness (opposed to Coraline, which felt right, too, but muuuuch more scary).<br /><br />I loved the wise Lettie, and her mother, and of course her grandmother (and the maid-mother-crone dynamic of course). I loved the protagonist, a young boy, who deals with life as well as he can. I loved his family -- it all felt very, very real. But then, the best fairytales are. 2015-04-08T07:23:24-07:00 2015-07-02T23:35:38-07:00   2015-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250227683 Anathem 2845024 rixx 41972609 5 **Anathem** by *Neal Stephenson* kept me pretty busy. Between a bunch of conferences, the sufficient concentration was a bit hard to come by. What's worse: Now that I have read it, I can't tell you if it is a good book or not.<br /><br />… because I enjoyed it too much. This book hit my sweet nerd spots one after another. Advanced future? Monasteries? Weird science? Conservancy? Quantum states in brains? Spaaaaaace? Yes, please. For me, this book is just fantastic, and I'll definitely return to it in the future. Plausible characters, fallible protagonist, and holy-shit-unpredictable plot. Wonderful worldbuilding, too. But, really, in many ways it's the scifi version of The Name of the Rose (complete with author pretentiousness). I love both, regardless of their, ahem, more objective qualities.<br /><br />An honorable mention goes to the presence of plenty of strong and cool women in a book where it would have been easy to sell an all-male cast. 2015-04-09T06:13:28-07:00 2019-09-20T13:45:09-07:00 2019-08-07T19:48:40-07:00 2019-09-20T13:45:09-07:00
1250227816 Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality 10016013 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-09T06:13:37-07:00 2018-07-13T11:31:12-07:00   2014-11-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250231191 Momo 68811 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-09T06:18:09-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:43-07:00   2002-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1250234058 The Atrocity Archives 101869 rixx 41972609 5 (My reviews are mostly to help me remember what happened in a book and why I liked/disliked it.)<br /><br />Soo, the beginning of my favourite Stross series. You know: magic is advanced maths, kinda powerful geeks and really powerful burocracy.<br /><br />I think it's noticable that Atrocity Archives is an early Stross book. In the first half, the Shibboleth/Shibboleet dropping is sometimes very obvious and a bit annoying. (Redeeming Stross though, he is actually knowledgable enough to actually use all those jokes, tropes and catchphrases, so it's ok.)<br /><br />Plot: We meet Bob, who wants to join Active Service in the Laundry. Angleton and Andy, his bosses, send him to the USA, where he meets and saves Mo, who then returns to London and moves in with him (after Bob saves her again at her own doorstep).<br /><br />To draw out their enemies Mo, Bob and secret reinforcements travel to Amsterdam for research, where Mo is promptly abducted to another universe. Bob joins the reconnaissance team. Turns out, in a close parallel universe to our own one, the Nazis finished their arcane project by summoning an Infovore and travelling to that world (some ice giants included). The Infovore sucked the universe dry and is now trying to get all of itself over to Bob's universe. With judicious use of some Hands of Glory and an H-Bomb they manage to save Mo, Bob and about half the crew. 2015-04-09T06:21:57-07:00 2015-07-02T23:27:05-07:00 2015-07-01T00:00:00-07:00 2015-07-02T00:00:00-07:00
1250620828 The 13½ Lives of Captain Bluebear 62032 rixx 41972609 5   2015-04-09T14:12:03-07:00 2018-07-13T10:58:05-07:00   2006-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1319573634 Die roten Matrosen 1477449 rixx 41972609 5   2015-06-28T03:20:13-07:00 2018-07-13T10:44:53-07:00   2004-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1319573938 Das Jahrhundertkind 1692762 rixx 41972609 5   2015-06-28T03:21:01-07:00 2018-07-13T10:53:36-07:00   2005-06-01T00:00:00-07:00
1323527046 Midnight Riot 8680417 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T08:31:41-07:00 2018-02-23T15:28:14-08:00   2016-06-02T00:00:00-07:00
1323544882 The Eyre Affair 27003 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T08:54:20-07:00 2018-07-13T11:06:54-07:00   2007-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1323567082 The Brothers Lionheart 19312 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T09:23:29-07:00 2018-07-13T10:37:15-07:00   2001-11-01T00:00:00-08:00
1323567195 Mio, My Son 181087 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T09:23:37-07:00 2018-07-13T10:33:56-07:00   2001-02-01T00:00:00-08:00
1323567404 Kalle Blomquist 42329 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T09:23:52-07:00 2018-07-13T10:31:41-07:00   1999-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1323568104 Märchen 468931 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-02T09:24:46-07:00 2018-07-13T11:05:47-07:00   2007-05-01T00:00:00-07:00
1324223036 Harka 6083604 rixx 41972609 5   2015-07-03T01:10:26-07:00 2018-07-13T10:42:15-07:00   2003-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1356160526 Emil and the Detectives 67270 rixx 41972609 5   2015-08-06T00:41:45-07:00 2018-07-13T10:46:29-07:00   2004-12-01T00:00:00-08:00
1356161778 Das fliegende Klassenzimmer 1132597 rixx 41972609 5   2015-08-06T00:44:50-07:00 2018-07-13T10:35:40-07:00   2001-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1627876903 The Painted Man 3322866 rixx 41972609 5 I truly loved this book. The characters work well and stayed with me, the world is consistent and required no effort or conscious suspension of disbelief on my part, and the pacing and storytelling in general was absolutely well-done and enjoyable. I'm really looking forward to the other parts of the series. Also, yay for books with several POV characters.<br /><br />I loved the diverse characters - strong female characters (with and without sexual relationships, that is!), but also weak female characters, and the same went for male chars.<br /><br />I loved Arlen because he's so headstrong, and his strength, and stupidity, and his growth. I loved Rojer, not only because he contrasts Arlen so well, but also because he is a guy who is not a typical image of masculinity, and (apart from a few scenes casting him as a coward) he stands on his own, even while contrasting Arlen. And of course, Leesha. Nothing really to say there. 2016-05-03T08:33:26-07:00 2016-08-16T15:30:43-07:00 2016-07-05T00:00:00-07:00 2016-08-08T00:00:00-07:00
1627904182 Erebos 7748743 rixx 41972609 5 Woah. Unendlich viel besser als Ready Player One oder Epic. Richtig richtig gute und gruselige Fassung eines KI-gesteuerten RPGs, das Auswirkungen auf die echte Welt hat. Hnnng. 2016-05-03T09:06:25-07:00 2018-03-12T06:18:28-07:00   2018-03-12
1627907684 High Wizardry 176534 rixx 41972609 5 Wow. Easily my favourite book of the series so far.<br /><br />We get: character development for everybody (except maybe the advisory wizards, they got theirs last time). Dairine is obviously front and center for this, but Kit and Nita get to explore their feelings for each other, and Nita's parents get to deal with computers and even more wizardry.<br /><br />I really wonder how I would have reacted to this book as a child. Would it have been to complex or abstract? By now, I just love it. I love the inclusion of computers in a book from 1990, I love how it reminds me of Stross (computers can work magic), and HPMOR (magic has a system that gets more clear as the books carry on). I love how we deal with the implications of creating a true AI in a book from 1990. For children. This book went in a different direction than I thought and wasn't just a copy of the first two books, including Dairine as protagonist. It explores a different theme entirely, and does it well. Will re-read, and it easily deserved my five stars. 2016-05-03T09:10:52-07:00 2016-05-08T11:44:12-07:00   2016-05-08T11:44:12-07:00
1627915035 Die dampfenden Hälse der Pferde im Turm von Babel 2841133 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-03T09:19:51-07:00 2018-07-13T10:32:57-07:00   2000-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1627928477 The Visit 317764 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-03T09:36:47-07:00 2016-05-06T11:48:43-07:00   2009-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1629949170 Kalle Blomquist Meisterdetektiv 1271288 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-05T11:19:22-07:00 2016-05-06T11:44:18-07:00   1998-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1629949641 Herr der Diebe 28670585 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-05T11:19:56-07:00 2018-07-13T10:35:33-07:00   2001-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1631799524 The Nine Tailors 126675 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-07T15:25:34-07:00 2018-07-13T10:54:07-07:00   2005-08-01T00:00:00-07:00
1632207305 Die Herrscherin der Eismark 23259852 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-08T04:41:19-07:00 2016-07-05T04:43:25-07:00 2009-01-01T00:00:00-08:00 2009-01-01T00:00:00-08:00
1632459379 The Cuckoo's Calling 16160797 rixx 41972609 5 Oh boy did I enjoy myself! Written really well (if a bit heavy on the fancy words in the beginning). Really looking forward to the next books in the series. 2016-05-08T11:23:07-07:00 2017-01-16T02:25:31-08:00 2017-01-11T00:00:00-08:00 2017-01-15T00:00:00-08:00
1635013713 Ancillary Justice 18626964 rixx 41972609 5 Wow wow wow.<br /><br />Wow.<br /><br />Great pacing, great characters, great world, great conflict. Great scifi. I'm impressed, and fascinated, and I hope the next books can live up to this one. But even without follow-up books, this would be … amazing. (Also, hey, meaningful generic femininum was a lot of fun.) 2016-05-11T05:43:50-07:00 2018-03-13T14:01:55-07:00 2018-03-12T07:29:16-07:00 2018-03-13T14:01:55-07:00
1641486806 Assassin's Apprentice 45107 rixx 41972609 5 Now this was a fantasy novel I really enjoyed. I went in with no expectations at all, randomly chose it from my Kindle, and oh boy, was I in for a ride.<br /><br />Fitz is likeable without being perfect, and both of his mentors, especially Chade, are wonderful in their characterizations. I also liked that the Six Duchies have a well-considered political and geographical structure. Seeing FitzChivalry go from stable boy to young assassin without the usual tropes of the assassin fantasy novels was a treat. I'm fairly sure I'm going to read the other novels, too. 2016-05-18T01:55:33-07:00 2016-10-11T08:55:17-07:00 2016-10-10T00:00:00-07:00 2016-10-11T08:55:17-07:00
1642479944 The Complete Fairy Tales 46306 rixx 41972609 5   2016-05-19T00:02:38-07:00 2018-07-13T10:38:37-07:00   2002-07-01T00:00:00-07:00
1662460926 Legion 13452375 rixx 41972609 5 Woop, amazing stuff! Haven't really read Sanderson apart from Alcatraz (which was annoying af), and this short story was *so* good! 2016-06-08T01:48:32-07:00 2017-11-28T06:15:30-08:00 2017-11-28T04:52:57-08:00 2017-11-28T06:15:30-08:00
1783392239 The Left Hand of Darkness 18423 rixx 41972609 5 Wow! This is a fantastic, clever, wonderful scifi book. I loved the explicitly humanoid species (that are probably expanded on, especially their origin, in other parts of the series). I loved the mostly-androgynous species, their peculiarities, the mechanics of it all, the implications. I loved the protagonist and the carefully spun story arch - but I loved most that the narrator/protagonist was both clever, relatable, and fallible - there were several instances where, in the middle of narration, you started to think "Hold up, I'm sure that's not quite …" or "Isn't that just your weird bisexual bias …?"<br /> 2016-10-13T06:43:54-07:00 2017-03-02T00:31:58-08:00 2017-02-27T00:00:00-08:00 2017-03-01T00:00:00-08:00
1784138143 The Way of Kings 7235533 rixx 41972609 5 **The Stormlight Archive** looks like it's going to be outstanding Fantasy – *Brandon Sanderson* starts out with a nearly flawless first volume with **The Way of Kings**. We get a fascinating, complex world, with slow, steady, and subtle worldbuilding (except for a bit of on-the-nose "I'm explaining the rules here" in the first five pages). This world has a lot of distinct cultures, with histories, and mythologies (partly connected, partly separate), and we get to figure it out mostly for ourselves! The story is fairly unpredictable (at least for more than a hundred pages at a time or so), the characters are distinct, mostly lovable or at least understandable, and not Mary Sue-ish at all. One of the protagonists has to deal with explicit depressive episodes, for example. It's a long book, but it's very much worth it, and while at times characters seem like Fantasy archetypes (is that Ned Stark? Is that Hermione?) – that never lasts long, and instead they evolve to be distinct characters that I can't wait to read more about. 2016-10-14T03:38:31-07:00 2018-08-05T13:58:55-07:00   2018-08-05
1810666059 The Gunslinger 43615 rixx 41972609 5 Wow. I read King's revised version from when he had finished the series, and it's stunning. I need to read the rest. It's … kinda what Firefly is to sci-fi: the fantasy edition, and so much fun, and with wonderful characters, and … wow. 2016-11-13T05:39:57-08:00 2017-05-31T06:07:23-07:00 2017-05-29T00:00:00-07:00 2017-05-30T00:00:00-07:00
1871269734 Die Verratenen 15851619 rixx 41972609 5 Mehr, bitte!<br /><br />Rias Geschichte in der Sphäre, in der sie Nummer 7 ist und eine großartige Zukunft vor sich hat, und … außerhalb, in der Wildnis und bei einem der Clans, gemeinsam mit den fünf anderen Fliehenden. 2017-01-08T06:01:13-08:00 2017-01-09T07:38:07-08:00 2017-01-08T00:00:00-08:00 2017-01-09T07:38:07-08:00
1872879814 Die Verschworenen 17925992 rixx 41972609 5 Rias Gruppe wird dezimiert (sogar eher im ursprünglichen Sinn), und nach einigen Nachforschungen in Jordans Chroniken verlassen drei der vier Überlebenden die Wildnis, um mehr in Erfahrung zu bringen. Bringt leider nicht so viel an Fakten, aber bringt Ria auf die richtigen Gedanken und sie beendet das Buch, wo sie es begann. 2017-01-09T07:38:30-08:00 2017-01-09T07:40:13-08:00 2017-01-09T00:00:00-08:00 2017-01-09T07:40:13-08:00
1872885878 Die Vernichteten 21529344 rixx 41972609 5   2017-01-09T07:43:54-08:00 2017-01-11T16:24:33-08:00 2017-01-09T00:00:00-08:00 2017-01-11T00:00:00-08:00
1920136900 The End 65112 rixx 41972609 5 &lt;3 2017-02-21T00:51:58-08:00 2017-02-21T00:52:15-08:00 2017-02-14T00:00:00-08:00 2017-02-21T00:52:16-08:00
1926263140 The Tombs of Atuan 13662 rixx 41972609 5 Oh wow. This touched me, and the ending was perfect. It didn't follow all the fantasy rules, it followed Earthsea rules. &lt;3 2017-02-27T04:14:25-08:00 2018-02-12T11:53:18-08:00 2018-02-12T10:09:21-08:00 2018-02-12T11:53:18-08:00
1957977444 Leviathan Wakes 8855321 rixx 41972609 5 Fantastic space opera, even more fun than the series. 4.5 stars for me, but I'm rounding up 'cause I'm feeling generous today and it was just so much immersive fun! 2017-03-31T08:32:49-07:00 2017-07-11T03:35:55-07:00 2017-07-04T00:00:00-07:00 2017-07-06T00:00:00-07:00
2001489370 The Princess Bride 21787 rixx 41972609 5 Well, this was just plain funny. Great storytelling, great pacing, great everything. I caught myself looking up if William Goldman really had a son. He hasn't, thank god.<br /><br />I probably should go and watch the movie now. 2017-05-16T01:47:40-07:00 2018-02-28T13:14:15-08:00 2018-02-27T11:25:18-08:00 2018-02-28T13:14:15-08:00
2007995966 The Rook 10836728 rixx 41972609 5 Wow! This book has bits of Charles Stross in it (as in: secret modern British agency dealing with the supernatural), but at the same time it's totally different. A bit more action oriented, fast-paced, witty, and it never felt like a Laundry knockoff. I'm really interested in where the sequel is going.<br /><br />(I devoured it in one day, so the mystery might not hold up quite as well if you take time to, y'know, think in between. But I devoured it in one day because it was just. so. good.) 2017-05-23T05:55:52-07:00 2017-05-24T14:42:03-07:00 2017-05-23T07:15:47-07:00 2017-05-24T14:42:03-07:00
2013291678 The Player of Games 18630 rixx 41972609 5 Omg yes. More, please. 2017-05-29T01:35:28-07:00 2018-02-14T14:57:38-08:00 2018-02-13T02:54:31-08:00 2018-02-14T14:57:38-08:00
2032807738 Wolves of the Calla 4978 rixx 41972609 5 I can't describe what King's books do to me. 2017-06-18T04:12:29-07:00 2017-06-20T06:19:28-07:00 2017-06-18T04:12:29-07:00 2017-06-20T06:19:28-07:00
2034872851 Song of Susannah 5093 rixx 41972609 5 Dark Tower just doesn't stop wowing me. 2017-06-20T06:19:47-07:00 2017-07-11T02:33:43-07:00 2017-06-20T00:00:00-07:00 2017-06-22T00:00:00-07:00
2056330209 The Dark Tower 5091 rixx 41972609 5 A really, really good end to the series. Wow. 2017-07-11T02:34:14-07:00 2017-07-11T02:34:53-07:00 2017-06-23T00:00:00-07:00 2017-06-24T00:00:00-07:00
2056341114 The Warrior's Apprentice 61906 rixx 41972609 5 Wow! If you're new to the series, … start here. This book has all the fun, and action, and, y'know, forwards momentum.<br /><br />(Our beloved hero is crippled, but clever, and builds a mercenary army by accident. Yep.) 2017-07-11T02:58:49-07:00 2018-02-23T12:21:38-08:00 2018-02-22T12:13:49-08:00 2018-02-23T12:21:38-08:00
2184805975 Abaddon's Gate 16131032 rixx 41972609 5 Okay, wow, this book had me discussing and screaming at it a lot. People die. People nearly die. Some of those deaths I was not at all okay with.<br /><br />Bull and Sam. And nearly Naomi. I swear I'd have stopped reading the book and the series if Naomi had died.<br /><br />Discovering the background of the protomolecule, the history, the vast other worlds out there, and the threat was awesome. Seeing both personal and political interactions in the crisis in a closed-off environment, too. God this series is brilliant. 2017-11-14T22:46:00-08:00 2018-07-05T05:40:34-07:00 2018-07-02T12:21:10-07:00 2018-07-05T05:40:34-07:00
2185152163 The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet 22733729 rixx 41972609 5 This was absolutely lovely scifi that reminded me a lot of Firefly in terms of down-to-earth real ship operations with a lovely, relatable crew and a gritty/real feeling universe. Seeing the crew of the Wayfarer coming together, in all their alien differences, and following them on their way to a difficult job, and seeing their hardship and friendship, was touching and a wonderful help against the autumn gloom. 2017-11-15T08:42:52-08:00 2018-11-19T05:18:26-08:00 2018-11-16T03:22:54-08:00 2018-11-19T05:18:26-08:00
2185164380 The Handmaid's Tale 38447 rixx 41972609 5 Oh *yes*, definitely the dystopic tale I needed without knowing it. Nicely done. 2017-11-15T08:57:53-08:00 2017-12-21T13:58:54-08:00   2017-12-21
2190930282 The Dispossessed 13651 rixx 41972609 5 Anarchist SciFi by Ursula K. Le Guin. It's a bit slow, but the content made me forget all about that. 2017-11-21T08:06:30-08:00 2018-02-12T10:05:35-08:00 2018-02-01T15:56:29-08:00 2018-02-12T10:05:35-08:00
2191804187 The Shepherd's Crown 22886868 rixx 41972609 5 It's a bit unpolished, and sometimes stumbles or takes some time where other Aching books were quick and smooth, but still – it's magnificent and we're so lucky to have it. 2017-11-22T05:14:26-08:00 2017-11-22T05:15:21-08:00   2017-11-22
2197607520 A Study in Emerald 6599565 rixx 41972609 5 Sherlock + Cthulhu is a very Gaimanishly Gothic mix. 2017-11-28T04:31:49-08:00 2017-11-28T04:32:18-08:00   2017-11-28
2197686569 The Emperor's Soul 13578175 rixx 41972609 5 Wow. It's not only the soulstamp concept that drew me in, it's the mechanics of plausibly altering the past, and the basic assumption that everything has a soul, an understanding of self, and a dream. Love it. 2017-11-28T06:39:48-08:00 2017-11-29T00:55:12-08:00 2017-11-28T06:39:48-08:00 2017-11-29T00:55:12-08:00
2208265447 The Desert Spear 6736971 rixx 41972609 5 Great successor! We see more of Arlen (and later, Renna, who has a wonderful story), Rojen (who was a bit neglected, to my feeling), Leesha, and a fancy new character! Also, more insight into politics and the demons. Everything was very cool, especially how people had all sorts of agency. I felt that character development ran a bit low in this book, but that's a common theme for second volumes, so let's hope the next one picks it up a bit. 2017-12-08T10:53:37-08:00 2018-06-24T12:04:34-07:00 2018-06-23T00:48:25-07:00 2018-06-24T12:04:34-07:00
2219842599 The Hanging Tree 21479290 rixx 41972609 5 Still more Peter Grant, with character development and BOSS FIGHT and new practitioners and cool characters and snark and ♥ 2017-12-20T02:56:52-08:00 2017-12-20T02:58:23-08:00   2017-12-19
2240253976 Academ's Fury 133664 rixx 41972609 5 Still loving Tavis way in the world – learning, finding friends in the city, loads of character development, and of course he saves the world again. 2018-01-03T03:52:54-08:00 2018-01-11T08:29:12-08:00   2018-01-03
2240254016 Cursor's Fury 29394 rixx 41972609 5 Tavi's now a real Cursor and finds himself sent to the military, where he continues to save the world. 2018-01-03T03:52:57-08:00 2018-01-11T08:30:17-08:00   2018-01-05
2240254039 Captain's Fury 346087 rixx 41972609 5 Tavi finally finds out who he is (c'mon, we knew all along) and develops his furycrafting. He also saves the realm using his new-won influence, resolving a terrible war peacefully. 2018-01-03T03:52:59-08:00 2018-01-11T08:31:41-08:00   2018-01-08
2274218962 The Great Explosion 1875974 rixx 41972609 5 Aww, it's scifi from the 60s! It's witty, and funny, and sarcastic (but never quite mean). Love it a lot.<br /><br />The first half of the book explains the general situation, and allows us to get to know the ship's crew as they come into contact with three planets (but only one meaningful one, grown from a colony of nudists).<br /><br />The second half centers on an anarchist world and … it's pure joy. Go read it. 2018-01-27T10:23:15-08:00 2018-01-27T10:24:44-08:00   2018-01-27
2280302201 Dawn 60929 rixx 41972609 5 Wow wow wow. Real scifi, brilliant scifi. 2018-02-01T03:19:49-08:00 2018-02-15T04:20:23-08:00 2018-02-14T15:03:46-08:00 2018-02-15T04:20:23-08:00
2293770439 The Farthest Shore 13667 rixx 41972609 5 4.5 stars, really.<br /><br />Some parts are predictable, yes. And the story has no women at all, which is very weird. But it's told so well, touches me so deeply, that this can't matter. If you like fantasy at all, Earthsea is *really* recommended. Wow. Will need to re-read. And put on a shelf. And re-read again. 2018-02-12T11:55:04-08:00 2018-02-22T12:10:20-08:00 2018-02-21T11:17:12-08:00 2018-02-22T12:10:20-08:00
2294473369 Freedom™ 8488830 rixx 41972609 5   2018-02-13T02:24:21-08:00 2018-02-13T02:24:34-08:00   2014-02-13
2300481949 Babel-17 1199688 rixx 41972609 5 It's been a long time (apart from Too Like The Lightning) that I've read a novel that felt so tailored to me like **Babel-17**. I mean, it's a queer polyamorous scifi novel where linguistics are key, even to winning space battles, which there are plenty of. I have no words. It's also been the first time in a while that a novel brought me to tears.<br /><br />This is absolutely what scifi is supposed to be like. It's rapid, and fun, and deep, and thoughtful, and introduces alien concepts and human behaviour, and …. I can absolutely see why it won the very first Nebula Award – even though I was very surprised to hear it's as old as 1966. It doesn't feel aged at all. 2018-02-18T15:01:11-08:00 2018-08-18T02:16:26-07:00 2018-08-16T01:15:38-07:00 2018-08-18T02:16:26-07:00
2300948300 Akata Witch 7507944 rixx 41972609 5 I definitely fell in love with this book. The only critique I can think of right now is that in the beginning the dialogue (and narration) felt a bit off, like it was more meant for the screen than for paper. But it's really really good regardless. This is how I like my fantasy. And also, finally somebody does four teenager teams right. Sunny and her friends are just lovely. 2018-02-18T23:52:12-08:00 2018-03-04T14:19:26-08:00 2018-03-04T11:06:08-08:00 2018-03-04T14:19:26-08:00
2300988037 Empire Games 29939336 rixx 41972609 5 This is what I wanted Merchant Princess to be. We see Rita do cool stuff without being too Mary Sue-ish, we get background, we get development, we get politics, and all that without being one giant economics textbook. Moar! 2018-02-19T01:17:57-08:00 2018-03-03T04:49:38-08:00 2018-02-28T13:20:32-08:00 2018-03-03T04:49:38-08:00
2301348793 Too Like the Lightning 26114545 rixx 41972609 5 For me, this was a five star books, plain and simple, but I *completely* understand why it would be a 0-, 1-, 2-star book for others.<br /><br />It's pretentious at times. It wants you to have classical knowledge of ancient Rome and 18th century France. It plays on that knowledge, and knowledge of literature in 18th century France explicitly. At least it explains lots of the in-jokes, so it's not terribly arrogant in choosing its readership, but the pretentiousness is there. The storytelling is great, full with an apologising, opinionated actor-narrator, with intermezzi by other characters.<br /><br />That said, I loved it. I loved the world, the 24th century world that consits of lots and lots of non-nation based groups (and some nation based ones), and seven major orientations everybody chooses (or becomes a blacklaw, which is fine, too): The Masons who have resurrected ancient Rome, the Humanists who have a flexible democracy, the Mitsubishi super clan who are focussed on land ownership, the Brillists who go ahead and analyse anyone and everyone, the Cousins who are something like the priests of a world that prohibits organised religion, the Europeans, based around a borderless idea of old nations, and the Utopians who are everywhere, especially in space, on the moon, and terraforming Mars.<br /><br />We get a complete, complex world, with penal systems, laws, cultures, capital punishments, regular people, and … special people of all kinds. Emperors, kings, convicts, gods, …Wow.<br /><br />And then it just ends in the middle of it all. *sigh* 2018-02-19T09:39:45-08:00 2018-03-19T06:15:27-07:00 2018-03-13T14:06:47-07:00 2018-03-19T06:15:27-07:00
2303741000 Quarantine 156775 rixx 41972609 5 This was lots of fun. The story is told in a four-star way, but it has so fucking many great concepts: Having a fuckton of software for your brain, and the implications of loyalty software, of cours. But mostly the idea that humans are unique in collapsing the wave functions of possibilities, and basically the implications of xenocide that come with it. Wow. And the implications of learning to suppress that reflex, and having human made quantum computing in the brain. ♥ 2018-02-21T10:08:29-08:00 2018-03-26T12:44:49-07:00 2018-03-23T12:01:43-07:00 2018-03-26T12:44:49-07:00
2306129715 Ethan of Athos 990093 rixx 41972609 5 Brilliant fun! Take this mostly horrible scifi concept of an all-female planet, reverse it to an all-male planet, then take it *seriously*. This poor protagonist doctor, sent out into the hostile and horrfyingly feminine universe, meets the brilliant Ellie Quinn of all people. It was SO MUCH FUN.<br />(Also, we get a gay happy end, in a way? Aww<a target="_blank" href="http://www" rel="nofollow">www</a>.) 2018-02-23T12:21:54-08:00 2018-03-10T02:40:02-08:00 2018-03-09T09:14:11-08:00 2018-03-10T02:40:02-08:00
2314874450 Dark State 24997006 rixx 41972609 5 Tremendous amounts of fun! We get all the things I hoped for: More cool grandpa, more cool Rose, more cool girlfriend, (also otherwise cool women, especially the Princess seems to rock), and more cultural juxtaposition. The evil guy within the Commonwealth isn't … openly evil? I'm not even sure which side of their story I beliefe yet. And then we get dropped a huge cliffhanger on us (Princess missing, Kurt about to visit the Commonwealth, Adam The First Man dead) that is straight up illegal in the EU. Good thing the UK is seceding I guess. 2018-03-03T04:50:44-08:00 2018-04-14T16:00:31-07:00 2018-04-05T16:32:36-07:00 2018-04-06T15:54:03-07:00
2322674321 Falling Free 61915 rixx 41972609 5 How is Lois McMaster Bujold not one of the first authors to be recommended to people starting scifi? Falling Free introduces the Quaddies (humans with arms instead of legs), as seen and told by an Engineer, capital E. It's awesome, and it's got everything you'd wish for: a new culture, social implications, lots and lots of economic and corporate implications (I see where Charlie got his Laundry File bureaucracy from), and the cultural implications aswell. Also, very sweet and cool characters all around, and funny af. Leo Graf, the protagonist, is just ♥ 2018-03-10T03:07:46-08:00 2018-04-14T15:59:21-07:00 2018-04-10T13:44:35-07:00 2018-04-11T16:12:12-07:00
2325888528 Bloodchild and Other Stories 60930 rixx 41972609 5 This was a good short story. It drew me in, and kept me, and will stay with me for some time. 2018-03-13T00:20:38-07:00 2018-04-10T08:25:03-07:00   2018-03-16

Next page

Advanced export

JSON shape: default, array, newline-delimited, object

CSV options:

CREATE TABLE [reviews] (
   [id] TEXT PRIMARY KEY,
   [book_id] TEXT REFERENCES [books]([id]),
   [user_id] TEXT REFERENCES [users]([id]),
   [rating] TEXT,
   [text] TEXT,
   [date_added] TEXT,
   [date_updated] TEXT
, [started_at] TEXT, [read_at] TEXT)
Powered by Datasette · Query took 85.295ms